Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice – Movie Review

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice was for sure my most anticipated movie of all time. I remember as a 13 year old, talking to my friend about how I was so excited for a Batman versus Superman movie, and so was he. But at the time, all talks of a Batman versus Superman movie said a release date of 2018, which made us upset thinking we would be eighteen when we could see the movie. But in 2016, we finally got it in theatres.

Batman v Superman is a very different Batman movie. The Superman aspects of the movie are by far the least interesting parts of it, meanwhile the Batman stuff is always interesting. The first hour of the film builds up Superman’s character, while in the meantime we see Batman scenes here and there, and for the most part they all work. Many hardcore fans of Batman will probably disappointed when I say that Batman kills people in this movie. There are several scenes in which Batman uses his Batmobile shooting criminals.

But that doesn’t mean that Batman for the most part isn’t a great character. To me, Ben Affleck is the best Batman we have seen on the big screen yet. His performance as Bruce Wayne and Batman feels very real and never acted.

Though the Superman aspects can be boring at times, Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor is by far the worst aspect of this movie. I could tell the director Zack Snyder didn’t want me to laugh at the scenes with Lex Luthor in them, but that’s exactly what I did. His performance is so over the top and cheesy, that me, and several other audience members in my theatre laughed at all of his dialogue.

Another thing to note is that the movie’s titular fight only lasts for around 5-10 minutes. I am not kidding.

Though Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman isn’t in the movie that much, the scenes she is in are amazing. Her Wonder Woman here feels very badass and something we haven’t seen before. Also Hans Zimmer’s theme song for her is the best movie theme song so far this year.

Wonder-Woman-In-Batman-v-Superman-Dawn-of-Justice-Wallpaper

Batman v Superman may be a bit disappointing in some ways but, I found myself consistently surprised by the majority of the movie.

My Rating: A-

MPAA Rating: PG-13 for intense sequences of violence and action throughout, and some sensuality

Cast: Ben Affleck, Henry Cavill, Amy Adams, Laurence Fishburne, Gal Gadot

Directed by: Zack Snyder

Distributed by: Warner Bros. Pictures

Running Time: 151 minutes

IMDb: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2975590/

Leave a Reply

